

## **ROYAL GEELONG YACHT CLUB Inc.**

## **2021 BOARD ELECTION INFORMATION**

At the close of nominations for election of **Office Bearers** and **Ordinary Members of the Board** on Thursday 5 August 2021 the following nominations had been received:

**OFFICE BEARERS** Five (5) vacancies. The following nominations were received:

COMMODORE (One (1) Vacancy)

One Nomination: **STUART DICKSON**Proposer: RUSSELL GERISCHER Seconder: DEREK BUCKMASTER

VICE-COMMODORE (One (1) Vacancy)

One Nomination: ROGER BENNETT Proposer: PETER ALEXANDER Seconder: DEREK BUCKMASTER

REAR-COMMODORE (One (1) Vacancy)

One Nomination: CHRIS MANTON Proposer: ROGER BENNETT Seconder: PETER ALEXANDER

CLUB CAPTAIN (One (1) Vacancy)

Nomination: PHILLIP FRANCIS Proposer: ROGER BENNETT Seconder: PETER ALEXANDER

TREASURER (One (1) Vacancy)
No Nomination:

As the number of nominations for the Offices of Commodore, Vice-Commodore, Rear Commodore and Club Captain did not exceed the number of vacancies, a ballot is not required and the persons nominated shall be duly declared elected at the Annual General Meeting of Royal Geelong Yacht Club Inc., to be held on Thursday 26 August 2021 commencing at 6.30pm.

In accordance with RGYC Rule 49 (3) the vacant position of **Treasurer** will be filled through secondment of an eligible member by the Board following the Annual General Meeting.

**ORDINARY BOARD MEMBER** (Three (3) Vacancies) the following nominations were received:

PETER ALEXANDER Proposer: ROGER BENNETT Seconder: DEREK BUCKMASTER

**DEREK BUCKMASTER** *Proposer:* CHRIS WILLIAMS *Seconder:* ROGER BENNETT

LAURA CORA Proposer: TONY BULL Seconder: ANDREW BROWNE

BRENDAN GARNER Proposer: PETER STEPHENS Seconder: GUYON WILSON

ALISON GOODFELLOW Proposer: STEVE NEUNHOFFER Seconder: ANDREW NEILSON

JOHN KINT Proposer: BRIAN MARSHMAN Seconder: PETER GEELS

STEVE WILLIAMSON Proposer: TOM BOLAND Seconder: ROGER BENNETT

JEFF WOLLF Proposer: ROGER BENNETT Seconder: GEOFFREY SEARLE

As the number of nominations for the positions of **Ordinary Member of the Board** exceeded the number of vacancies; a ballot is required and shall be conducted in accordance with the Rules.

The Ordinary Board Member vacancy created by Chris Manton nominating for the position of Rear Commodore will be filled as a casual vacancy in accordance with Rules 48 and 51 and the RGYC Board Member Secondment Policy, noting that this position was due to expire at the 2022 Annual General Meeting.

Ordinary Board Member Simon Guthrie has tendered his resignation to the Board. This position of Ordinary Board member will be filled as a casual vacancy in accordance with Rules 48 and 51 and the RGYC Board Member Secondment Policy, noting that this position was due to expire at the 2022 Annual General Meeting.

## NOTE:

- 1. The Board has appointed Club Finance Manager, Rob McLay, as the Returning Officer
- 2. Past Commodores Andrew Neilson and Guyon Wilson have accepted the Board's invitation to act as scrutineers for the election
- 3. Absentee voting forms are available by contacting the RGYC office from 9.30am on Monday 16 August 2021. Absentee Voting Forms can be delivered, mailed or emailed to the RGYC Office (<a href="mailed:info@rgyc.com.au">info@rgyc.com.au</a>) to reach the office no later than 6.00pm on Monday 23 August 2021.

- 4. Voting in person will be conducted over the following days:
- Tuesday 24 August 2021: 8.30am 6.00pm
- Wednesday 25 August 2021: 8.30am 6.00pm

Financial Members who are eligible to vote may visit the club during this period to register their vote, or alternatively elect to cast their vote via the absentee voting process. Please note: that the election process is subject to COVID-19 restrictions at the time.

The results of the election will be declared in the clubhouse at approximately **6.30 pm on Wednesday 25 August 2021.** Members will also be notified of the results of the election via the electronic newsletter by 12.30pm on **Thursday 26 August 2021.** 

Philip J Clohesy Secretary

7 August 2021